Define this to get more ideal clients...

Read time: 3 minutes‎ ‎ 

Solopreneurs don’t play by the same rules as big brands.

But there’s one branding concept every business venture needs to define:

Their positioning.

A positioning statement is a useful part of your brand.

It summarizes who you help, how you help them, and why they should care.

Writing a positioning statement ISN'T as tricky as it sounds.

In this email, I’ll show you a simple way to do it.

But first, you may be wondering...

Why do you need a positioning statement? 🤔

I'll give you 5 reasons (and there are probably more)...

  • It keeps you locked on your ideal type of client and helps you get more of their business.

  • It gives you the clarity needed to build a strong and lasting brand.

  • It offers constraints so your content marketing is laser focused.

  • It can be used throughout all of your messaging in various forms.

  • It gives you a great answer to the dreaded question: “So, what do you do?”

What is MY positioning statement, you ask? 🧐

Moving through my career and, at times, being unsure of the right direction to go in...

My positioning has changed over the years.

Most recently, when starting this newsletter, I decided on a narrower niche (which I talked about in my previous newsletter).

...and it led to rethinking my positioning once again.

Here it is:

I help creative solopreneurs build remarkable brands by distilling 20 years of branding into weekly bite-sized tips, so they can land more ideal clients.

Is it perfect?

...what is “perfect” anyway?

It IS something I can run with and iterate on.

THAT'S perfect!

I'm now using versions of it in my:

  • Twitter bio

  • Social media CTAs

  • Newsletter subscribe page

  • Newsletter directory submissions

Now, let’s looks at a great framework for crafting your own.

How to craft your positioning statement

Remember… this doesn’t have to be set in stone. It’s an evolving part of your brand and can change as your business grows.

1️⃣ – Answer these four questions in plain, concise, and specific language.

2️⃣ – Put your answers together to build your statement.

Note: It’s best if your answers are things that only you can say, and your competition can't (or at least doesn't). This will encourage your ideal clients to choose you first.

Q1. Who do you help?

  • Who are the specific people you want to help the most?

  • Describe 1 or 2 groups of people you serve (communities, organizations, tribes, etc.).

Q2. What do you do?

  • What exactly do you do to help this group of people?

  • What pain points do you help alleviate?

Q3. How do you do this?

  • How exactly do you help them?

Q4. Why do you do it?

  • What are the benefits you create for them?

  • What successful result do you help them achieve?

Now put it all together

I help WHO DO WHAT by/with HOW that/so/because WHY.

Examples:

→ I help busy moms (WHO) stay in shape (WHAT) with quick-and-easy cardio lessons (HOW) that make them feel accomplished (WHY).

→ I help small business owners organize their life with simple frameworks, so they can take back their time to grow their business.

→ I help experienced programmers build better products by taking my graphic design course so they can triple their rates.

→ I help woman entrepreneurs become thought leaders on LinkedIn through 1-on-1 coaching, so they can go from unknown to unforgettable.

→ I help entrepreneurs clarify their offer with a simple 7-part framework, so they can engage their audience and grow their business faster.

Ok, what's the next step? 🤓

Once you have something written down, get some feedback on it — especially if the people you ask are your target audience.

Then iterate on it and play around with the wording.

Shorten it.

Rearrange it.

Add a CTA to it.

Put a hook at the beginning for some curiosity.

Then use it everywhere you need to 💪

This will send a consistent and targeted message to your audience about how you can help them.

Hot dog!

If you like, you can also bounce your ideas off of me…

Just reply with your answers to the four questions above.

I’ll get back to you with my thoughts.

See you next Tuesday,🤖 Robert

Did you like this content?

💃🕺 Would you share it with ONE friend? It means a lot.

🐦 Catch me on Twitter @RobertHacala for more branding tips.

Join the conversation

or to participate.