😬 "Just be yourself" is bad advice...

Read time: 1.5 minutes‎

“Develop your eccentricities while you are young. That way, when you get old, people won't think you're going gaga.”

– David Ogilvy

Your brand is an extension of your personality.

…at least bits and pieces of it.

As a solopreneur, a solo creator, a one-person show, a private coach, a freelancer…

Letting others see your personality makes you (i.e. your brand) stand out as unique and authentic.

No, I’m not going to say “just be yourself.”

That’s bad advice, in my opinion.

It’s too easy…

Too vague…

Lacks meaning…

And it’s not very productive.

We’re actually different personalities on different days, around different people.

We have ever-changing moods, thoughts, beliefs, and motivations.

Instead, I like to say:

→ Show a version of yourself that attracts the clients you desire.

There are many versions of you that you could highlight.

You don’t have to tell your whole life story.

Even if you just open up a small part of your life...

You’ll still be authentic.

    Not sure what to share?

    Try telling one of your unique stories:

    • The path you are on

    • A lesson you learned

    • Something silly you did

    • A core belief you live by

    • Why you do what you do

    • A challenge you overcame

    • A good habit you picked up

    • How you got to where you are now

    • Your unique method of doing something

    Maybe you're not comfortable putting yourself out there...

    I get it.

    I'm a pretty private person.

    Starting this newsletter challenged me to show myself.

    So I started small.

    Sharing about things I've struggled with and lessons I've learned...

    I like to be relatable and approachable.

    ...and try to show my personality — helpful and a bit silly.

    You may have noticed I love da wacky gifs 😜

    Go ahead and challenge yourself...

    Tell a short story about something in your life.

    And remember to add your own flavour...

    I'd love to hear what you come up with.

    Reply to this message and let me know... I'll get back to you.🤖 Robert

    💃🕺 Would you share this newsletter with a friend? It means a lot.

    🐦 Catch me on Twitter @RobertHacala for more branding tips.

    Join the conversation

    or to participate.