Navigating Life’s Big Moves

How moving continents and burning out taught me what really matters.

Read time: 1.5 minutes

By the time you read this, I’ll be airborne…

Flying halfway around the globe to our new home in Canada.

I only planned on staying in Taiwan for a year. (That’s what they all say.)

Now, 18 amazing years later…

It’s time to head home.

Arrived to the island with just a pack on my back.

Now, leaving as a family of 4 (plus Pepper the Pomeranian).

It’s been a HUGE undertaking…

Closing up everything on one side of the world, and setting up everything on the other.

Passports, flights, housing, shipping, medicines, records, insurance, vehicles, phones, internet, schools, dog food…

(Of course, my wife has been absolutely amazing with planning and executing everything.)

With so much happening, plus my full-time job, running this newsletter, and all the other things I needed or wanted to do...

I reached my limit.

I overloaded myself.

I panicked.

In the past, I’ve always been able to push through.

But not this time.

I had to take a step back and figure out what REALLY matters.

A reminder that:

  • I must take care of myself, both physically and mentally.

  • I simply can’t do everything on my own.

  • Lack of focus is a silent killer.

These things affect all of us.

Even the greats get burned out.

We can never win if we’re too weak.

We can never grow if we’re overwhelmed.

I need to start asking myself these questions and make sure I have great answers for them:

  • Am I working on what really matters to me and my family?

  • Will it still matter in 5 or 10 years?

  • Are my actions getting me closer to my goals?

  • Do I still love what I’m doing every day?

  • What would I do if I could only choose one or two priorities?

  • Who do I have to talk to or get help from when I need it?

Brand building is long-term.

We need the passion, focus, and stamina to keep showing up consistently — to build a solid reputation for others to see.

Your brand is your reputation, after all.

I encourage you to also ask these questions from time to time.

Try to recognize your own red flags before it’s too late.

And if you ever need to talk about what’s going on in your work or life, feel free to reach out (I’m a good listener).

Just reply to any of my emails or find me on X.

You don’t even have to know what to say.

🤖 Robert

Join the conversation

or to participate.