The Winning Edge of Simplicity

How to find elegance and achieve your goals by simplifying your things.

Read time: 1 minute

ā€œPerfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.ā€

ā€•Ā Antoine de Saint-ExupĆ©ry

Iā€™ve been reflecting on this quote for a few years.

One of my favourites.

We use the word ā€˜elegantā€™ to describe a simple idea or solution.

Elegant also means ā€graceful and stylishā€.

I donā€™t think this is a coincidence, as the origin of the word is the Latin ā€˜elegansā€™ meaning ā€pick out, chooseā€.

Simplicity isnā€™t the end goal.

We can see the benefits of simplicity everywhere...

  • Using one headshot everywhere increases familiarity and trust.

  • Having one funnel means having less to think about.

  • A newsletter with only one link will get more clicks.

Yet, achieving simplicity can be challenging.

I often feel the need to add more...

Until I realize Iā€™ve added too much.

How I Keep Things Simple

Whether Iā€™m working on a writing, a design, a process, or a websiteā€¦

I assess each draft:

  • Are there any elements that donā€™t need to be here?

  • What can I remove without decreasing the effectiveness of this?

I monitor any thoughts of adding something:

  • Do I absolutely need this other thing?

  • Will adding this cause complexity, confusion, or redundancy?

  • Will this take away from what Iā€™m already doing or is it better to double-down on whatā€™s working now?

I realize that sometimesā€¦ just sometimesā€¦ a little more can be better.

  • Will this make my identity more attractive, memorable, or trustworthy?

  • Will this give the viewer a better sense of my purpose or values?

  • Will this inject more of my personality?

It's all about finding that sweet spotā€¦

Everything has its place.

No extra fluff.

ā€œIt is not a daily increase, but a daily decrease. Hack away at the inessentials.ā€

ā€•Ā Bruce Lee

šŸ¤– Robert

Share this newsletterā€¦ and no one will know you secretly like pumpkin spice lattes.

Join the conversation

or to participate.