🤔 What's in it for Them?

Learn how you can craft your brand promise and attract the clients you want (+real examples)

Read time: 3 minutes

You are your clients’ guide.

You help them avoid pitfalls and overcome challenges…

So they can reach their destination:

Success.

The big question is: How do you do that?

What do you offer your clients to help them succeed?

Today, we’ll look at how to craft your brand promise.

So you can tell your clients exactly what to expect from you.

I’ve also included lots of examples from successful solopreneurs at the end.

But first, let’s see how a brand promise can help you…

Why Do I Need a Promise?

Your promise is the value you commit to delivering to your clients — reliably.

  • It tells people what to expect when they work with you or consume your content.

  • Delivering on your promise builds your reputation and credibility — so your clients to stay loyal and tell their friends about you.

  • Headlines and social bios are often stronger when they include a clear brand promise.

Now, here’s how you can create one for yourself…

How Can You Craft Your Promise?

Do these 3 things and you’ll be good to go:

1. Find out what your clients value.

What do your clients needs the most?

→ Time, money, convenience, comfort, security, sophistication, etc.

What’s stopping them from achieving their success?

→ Pain points, frustrations, roadblocks, etc.

EXAMPLES:

  • A result (measurable is better) → 3x your rates; learn the essentials of copywriting in just 5 days

  • An experience → hassle-free process; feeling of accomplishment

  • An action → build profitable sales funnels; develop unbreakable habits

  • A feature → the simplest framework; the quickest method

2. Focus on one thing you offer.

What can you commit to that gives your clients what they need?

→ Your skill, method, resource, knowledge, experience, etc.

EXAMPLES: Inbound marketing, Identity design, SaaS copywriting, email optimization, sales funnels, mental health

3. Make it clear, concise, realistic, and meaningful.

Write a single clear sentence about what your clients will get.

Don’t confuse people with vagueness, cleverness, or long-winded phrases.

Project confidence and motivate your ideal clients to take action and hire you.

Below are example promises from successful solopreneurs I follow. 

As you’ll see, there are many ways to write a promise, and there’s no one-size-fits-all formula.

Your promise doesn’t have to explain HOW you help your audience.

That’s usually in your subhead or body copy, anyway.

But there’s ONE thing that MUST be included:

→ A clear client benefit.

Let’s have a look-see, shall we?

Brand Promises from Solopreneurs

I snagged these great lines from Twitter, Instagram, and opt-in pages…

→ Opt-in Pages

Become A Prolific Digital Writer In 7 Days

Nicolas Cole & Dickie Bush (startwritingonline.com)

Launch, Grow & Monetize Your Internet Business.

I demystify buyer behavior so you can market smarter (And look like a genius)

Non-Hacky Marketing Tactics for Smart SaaS Founders.

→ Twitter

I help creators & business owners level up their productivity.

I teach you how to grow + improve + monetize a read-worthy newsletter.

I help you get a body you love and improve mental health in a way that’s sustainable long term.

I write to turn your visitors into customers.

I help entrepreneurs and creators build profitable Sales Funnels

→ Instagram

I help people get their first or next 10K followers

Helping creators build a following and monetize with profitable digital products

What’s My Promise?

I have a few, actually (as some solopreneurs do).

It’s because whenever I write copy, I do my best to include the benefit to my audience.

Here’s what I got:

  • I help solopreneurs attract their ideal clients.

  • Eliminate the guesswork in crafting your solobrand and work with the people you want.

  • Get 20 years of brand design experience in my 2-min weekly newsletter.

Remember… a Promise Is a Promise.

Break it → and you put both your reputation and your revenue at risk.

Overdeliver → and you’ll keep them coming back for more.

Want to bounce some ideas off me?

Just hit reply…

I’ll tell you what could work well for you.

🤖 Robert

ANSWER TO LAST WEEK’S RIDDLE

What belongs to you, but other people use it more than you?

→ Your name.

TODAY’S RIDDLE

Which question can you never say yes to?

——

If you think you know the answer, hit reply and let me know… or find out in next Tuesday’s newsletter.

🤔 Like my content? Share this newsletter with a friend. Noice!

🐦️ Catch me on Twitter @RobertHacala for branding tips and bad puns.

Join the conversation

or to participate.